Shopping for Discounts -- 8-02-04

_met with Shrink, today.� It's funny how, given the opportunity to ramble on about yourself unchecked, a body can figure out a lot of things that seem incredibly obvious.
��� Today, it was dating....� He had asked me how my date with Goth Guy went, and I told him the extremely short version of the story.� I felt it was more important to discuss with him the things I've learned since then about my cynicism and giving up those things that I really really want for fear of never having them.� Besides, in retrospect, I feel kinda dumb about that whole thing.
��� In any case, I've been gestating a thought that came to fruition during our meeting, today.� As much as I want to be in that relationship that I feel so ready for, I have to stop looking.� I used the analogy of shopping for a blouse.� If I'm just out shopping and a blouse catches my eye that I think is just so adorable that I can't live without it, I buy it.� I'll be happy with it and never disappointed.� On the other hand, if I go out looking for a blouse -- the perfect blouse -- and I know in my mind exactly what I want, down to the color of thread that the buttons are sewn on with, I'm never going to find what I'm looking for.� I'll look and look until I'm frustrated, and then settle for something that isn't exactly what I was looking for but I'm tired of looking, I'm never going to be completely satisfied.
��� Using online dating services really narrows your scope and not in any good way.
��� I think these last few weeks have been really good for me.� The stuff with Goth Guy hurt for a couple of days, but in the end, I've learned some really valuable stuff.
  • I've realized that I gave up on some dreams because I had resolved myself to always being in unbalanced relationships
  • I've realized that cynicism and bitterness are real turn offs
  • I've learned that sharing too much personal information too quickly is not always a good thing
  • I've learned that it's healthier to deal with rejection by reaching out to real friends than by trying to make new ones on the net
��� Ironically, I got an e-mail from Goth Guy on Friday.� He's planning a jaunt to Japan Town in SF and wanted to know if I'd like to go along.� I'm really not sure how to take this.� I've never been rejected by someone who then wanted to be my pal.
��� I considered telling him to go fuck himself, but there's really no reason for that except that I felt crappy as a result of his honesty and therefore strive to make him feel crappy.
��� I think I may actually go, if for no other reason than to demonstrate that I can be light-hearted, relaxed, and natural when I'm not nervous.� I can't deny that there's a secret place in the back of my mind that thinks if he sees me this way, he'll realize how wonderful I am and sweep me up in a passionate kiss with that sexy mouth of his (cuz it was really nice).� But mostly, I think I just want to hang out, see a place I've never seen before, and prove that I really am the coolest 33-year-old, divorced, burnt-out high school teacher/ren faire geek this side of the Mississippi.

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.