Rubber Ducky -- 01-09-05

ast night, I had the Romantic Comedy first date of a life time.  It was a blind date.  I'd only spoken to him briefly by phone and then a few times by e-mail, again, just briefly.  We'd arranged to meet at a coffee shop in Los Gatos.  He called me twice to make sure I had the address and directions.  He sounded really nice on the phone, but having jaded myself on Internet dating, I've learned not to anticipate anything.  Voices can be decieving.  Pictures can be decieving.
    In any case, I arrived and had difficulty finding a place to park.  Ultimately, I found parking about a quarter of a mile from the coffee shop.  It was raining slightly, but I'd brought my new coat, and most of the sidewalk was covered, anyway.
    By the time I reached the coffee shop, I could see him through the window, seating himself with a chai tea and a paper.  He was actually much more pleasing to the eye than his picture had indicated -- soft eyes, pierced ears, spikey, blond hair.  Very goth-surfer.
    When I walked in, he looked up and saw me, and said my name, smiling.  He had a gentle smile, and I felt at ease with him immediately.  He offered to buy me a tea and I told him that actually, I hadn't eaten dinner yet.
    He smiled and said he'd made us reservations at a sushi place close by, then asked if I liked sushi.  I told him that I didn't dislike sushi, but I'd never had sushi that I just really thought was excellent.  But I told him that I am open-minded and perhaps he could convince me otherwise.
    So we walked to the restaurant and were seated by the window.  We chatted easily as he looked over the menu.  I told him that I was going to let him order, because I knew nothing about sushi, but was eager to learn.  I told him what I liked: tuna, shrimp, spicy food.  He decided on various rolls, tempura, and tea.  As the waitress finished taking our order, he flipped his menu over, and knocked his hot tea over, pouring it directly into my lap.
    I laughed, as I began dabbing at it with the paper napkins the waitress left.  He asked her to bring me a towel and apologized to me profusely, but not so much so that it was embarassing.  I continued to laugh as he sat marvelling at his misfortune and how this was like a scene from a movie.  "I suppose the awkward phase is over, now?"
    We talked about all kinds of things: education, religion, industrial art, family, surfing, career goals, society, creativity.  He has a very peaceful presence about him and exudes a confidence that suggests that he is comfortable with himself and happy with his life.
    After dinner, we walked down the street some and stopped for dessert at Coldstone Creamery.  He let me order, so I ordered a cheesecake icecream dish, and then we shared it as we continued to discuss this and that and the other thing.
    At some point, we broached the subject of the Muppets.  He told me that Ernie was his hero, and then he began to sing Ernie's Rubber Ducky song to me.  I could have kissed him, it was so adorable!
    Finally, I could see that he was getting tired, so he walked me to my car.  Upon reaching it, he said, "well, give me a hug, since it's WAY too soon for a first kiss."  Then he hugged me, dismissing what he'd just said as a joke.
    I thanked him for the evening, and he said he'd talk to me soon.

    Until that moment, I felt like it was the perfect evening.  That last moment, however, made me kind of wary, and I find myself unable to hope that he'll be calling again.

    Even if he doesn't, it was a really nice distraction for a night.

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.