Hi, My Name is Fate -- 8-01-04

esterday I heard about a Renaissance Faire that was to be held within reasonable distance from where I live.� Generally, if I attend a faire, it's as a performer, and I have responsibilities and obligations.� While I enjoy myself immensely, there is less time for simply enjoying the event.
��� This morning, I decided to go to this event.� I went alone, but I knew I'd see familiar faces.� Mostly, I just wanted to get out and do something, and I always love an excuse to put on garb.
��� When I arrived, I had no sooner entered the park before I saw a group of people that I had once done events with on a regular basis.� K was among them, and I was happy to see him, as we haven't talked in probably a year.� I visited with the group for a while, and then with K and a friend he happened to be talking to and then proceeded to continue my lap around the fairground.
��� Later, I found two lady members of my faire guild.� I chatted with them for a while, and then looped around again.
��� It was a great day.� I found an exact copy of my favorite necklace that I'd lost several months ago.� I also got a new pair of earrings and enough winks and nods to boost my ego for at least a couple of weeks.
��� Later in the day, I saw K standing at a booth admiring their jewelry.� I noticed that the woman running the booth seemed to be intensely interested in him, so I kept my distance, so as not to interfere with any chemistry that might be brewing.� It was quite obvious that she was interested, but K is clueless when it comes to women, and never realizes it when nice, attractive women show interest.� He's the type of guy (we all know one of these) who only ends up in relationships in which the woman is exceedingly controlling and has basically made up her mind that they will be together.
��� In any case, I tried to keep my distance, but K saw me and called to me.� I joined him in his shopping just as his admirer was leaving.� He and I walked on and I told him why I'd stayed back.� He chuckled and mentioned that he thought maybe she'd flirted with him the day before.
��� "Well, go back and ask her for her phone number or e-mail, you big Geek!" I told him, shoving him as we walked.
��� "Nooo..." he said, weakly.� "If it's meant to be, we'll cross paths again."

��� O.k., is it just me or is that the weakest freakin' thing you've ever heard?� "If it's meant to be."� GIVE ME A BREAK!� The only things that are meant to be in life are those things we make happen!� There is only what we do and what we don't do.

��� The fortunate thing for him is that Faire is a circuit, and generally the same vendors end up at most of the events that we all attend.� There is a good possibility that their paths might cross again.� But who's to say that by then, someone with no patience for Fate hasn't already swept her up?� Honestly, if I'd had his phone number or e-mail at the time, I'd have given it to her and said, "Hi, my name is Fate and my friend K is really clueless when it comes to women.� Please give him a call, because it's meant to be."

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.