Ramp -- 8-25-04

ast night was Ex's 36th birthday.  I told him I'd have dinner with him, so at 7:30, we met at the Monterey Bay Cannery in Sacramento.
    As I drove to Sacramento, I was dreading the evening.  I think Ex is beginning to realize that we are not going to be getting back together, and his demeanor is incredibly unpredictable.  If I check the time on my cell phone, he wants to know from whom I'm expecting a call.  If I don't answer right away when he calls me, he wants to know where I was and what I was doing.  It's incredibly uncomfortable, and if he didn't owe me over $4000, I'd sever ties completely.
    What I did not expect, was to be seated facing a young couple whose subtle yet obvious affection for each other made me bleed.
    As I sipped my ice water, my eyes kept falling on their hands, slightly touching across the table.  He faced me and I could see his eyes drinking her in like a wilting lawn soaking up an unexpected rain.  It was real and sweet and new.  And it made my heart complain a little.
    As we left the restaurant that evening, we passed an elderly couple making their way up the ramp.  The man carried a cane, and the woman used a walker.  He let her walk ahead of him, guiding her elbow with his wrinkled, crooked hand as they both shuffled along.
    And I thought to myself, I hope that someday, someone will help me patiently up the ramp.

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.