Family -- 8-24-04

amily -- you can't live with them.  Yeah.
    This weekend was an exercise in loving blindly and unconditionally.  I now know, without a doubt, that despite my family's weirdness, bitchiness, and down right fucked up nature, I wouldn't trade them for any other dysfunction in the world.
    Take THE BABY SHOWER, for example.  Step-Sister is the youngest of the six children in my family.  She is due to have her first child next month.  Her mother and my step-father were divorced long before my mom came into the picture.  Yet G, Step-sister's mother, made life miserable for my mother as often as she could.  She deprived Step-Dad of visitation.  She convinced Step-Sister that he had been abusive to her.  Later, she convinced Step-Sister that my mother was the reason that she and Step-Dad were no longer together (she apparently forgot that she had run off with her sister-in-law's husband).
    In any case, there were many years of ugliness, which, theoretically, should be well behind us by now.  If my family were normal.
    I drove to Foster Sister's house to pick up her and T, her 11 year old daughter.  They rode with me, while my mother rode with Sister and H, her 14 month old daughter.  Our two sisters-in-law, our brother's wives, were conveniently left off of the guest list.  As we drove to the shower, Foster Sister was joking about how ugly this would be, with my mom and Step-Sister's mom in the same room together.
    I told her that I wasn't really that worried.  My mother's aunt can be just as nasty as anyone else.  I then proceeded to tell her about younger brother's wedding, when I was greeted by Great Aunt saying, "man, you've gotten fat."  Foster Sister laughed nervously.
    When we arrived at the shower, I sat down next to Step-Grandmother.  I'm not fond of this woman.  She refused to allow us to call her "Grandma" when we were children.  She referred to us as "those kids," and told my step-cousin that she should not hang around with me, because I was a bad influence.  (I carried a 3+ GPA, never got into trouble, never tried alcohol or drugs).
    Now that I'm a college graduate, with a successful career, Step-Grandma acts as if she had some influence over it.  She's so proud of me.  It's an effort not to crack her aged, balding skull like the coconut it looks like.
    Step-Grandma was in rare form.  She'd lean into me as each person passed, remarking on the shape of their butt or how much weight they'd gained.  When Foster-Sister came in she said, "I don't feel so bad, now, Foster Sister.  You've gained a lot more weight than I have."  Foster Sister laughed stiffly.
    When my sister ran outside chasing H, Step-Grandma leaned into me again and said, "Man, she's put on some weight.  I guess having kids'll do that to you."  I tried to be respectful.
    Through all of this, G, Step-Sister's mother, was actually rather pleasant.  She was a bit syrupy, but nothing I wouldn't have expected considering I'm sure she was nervous to be the only one in her camp in a room full of our camp.
    But, again, Step-Grandma had to open her mouth.  She looked at my mother and said, "You're right, she has gotten fat!" loud enough that we all heard her.  I don't know if G heard, but my mother turned beet red.
    Not to be outdone, my sister decided to put on her bitch hat.  H had dumped the dog's bowl and sat in it, soaking her shorts thoroughly.  As my sister scolded her, G, in an attempt to be friendly said, "aw, Mom, it's hot.  You could wet my shorts."  To this, my sister replied coolly, "no, thanks.  You're really not my type."
    G was not amused, and I was stunned.  I can be ballsy, but I'm generally not just blatantly rude.
 
That was Saturday.  On Sunday was THE YARD SALE.
    Papa, my mother's step-dad who has been married to her first cousin ever since my grandma was killed in a car accident, called to tell us that they were having a yard sale at J's house.  J is my mother's other cousin.
    Mom asked me if I would drive her over there, and since I hadn't seen Papa in months, I happily agreed.
    Papa, as I said, is my mother's step-dad.  He is, however, the only grandfather I've ever known, and has always been exactly that to me.  I love him so much just writing these sentences is making me teary eyed.  He's a good man.
    When we arrived, Papa greeted us at the car.  We hugged and kissed and talked.  He calls me "Sugar."  S, his wife, and my second cousin, was the next to greet us, followed soon by J, who just waved.  We pulled up chairs on the front porch and sat there discussing the family dramas.  Who's pregnant.  Who's on drugs.  Who's getting a divorce.  Who's getting married again.  Who's in jail.
    Mom made certain to mention a few times that I'm going to be attending Stanford University this Fall.  O.k., I have to admit, I like it when she brags about me.
    Of course, Mom also had to share her psychic readings from some online psychic chat that she goes to.  These readings made her feel so much better about her worries with regards to Niece, who's on the train coming home, as I type this.
    Papa and S nodded their heads dutifully.  I think they were trying not to laugh.
    But lo and behold, who should arrive unexpectedly, but that same great aunt who was so nasty to me at Younger Brother's wedding.  She hobbled down the sidewalk and up the porch, and we all hugged her just like it was something pleasant to see.
    In all honesty, I have to confess that despite the fact that I really feel no emotion for this woman, There's really just something awe-inspiring about being with your senior relatives, no matter how nasty they are.  So in that respect, it was nice to see her.
    She was seated on the porch swing for about 4 minutes before she announced, "Jesus Christ, J, you're getting fat."

    Mom told me to go on and do the shopping and things that I'd had planned for the day.  She told me she'd have Papa bring her home later.  I arrived home before they did, even with all my errands.  I was sitting at my desk fiddling on my computer when Mom came out and asked me if I'd help her bring in the stuff she brought home.
    When I walked outside, I saw my Papa's truck backed up to the garage.  Everything that didn't sell was brought over and dropped off.
    Did I mention Mom's a packrat?

    So, you see, they're nuts.  They're rude.  They're weird.  They're embarrassing.  But they're mine.  And after 33 years, I don't know if I could take anything different.

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.