Contact -- 8-20-04

he need for physical human contact is an interesting phenomenon.  Despite my age, this whole concept of sex for the sake of sex is a brand new experience for me.
    In my mind, it's always played out as if I were not in the same room with my partner.  He would use my body to satisfy his own needs, and then leave me feeling cold and empty.
    To reinforce this warped view, I've had an experience or two precisely like that.  Naive as I was, in both cases, I thought sex was a precursor to relationship, and on the morning, when my lover was no longer affectionate, nor hardly even friendly, I felt like an empty tube of tooth paste: used up and caved in.
    Later I assumed that I was unable to separate my emotions from sex, and decided that sex should be reserved for relationships only.  That's when Ex and I became involved, so there was really no need to put said canon to the test.
    When Ex and I broke up, I realized that I needed to sort some things out before I got myself involved in another relationship.  The unfortunate byproduct of that, however, was abstinence, which I promptly deduced sucks.
    J was the first to prompt me to consider a "fling."  J was a guy I knew from my online game.  He lives just a couple of hours from me.  He was 22, and told me he had always wanted to be with an "older woman."  (It was difficult to find that as flattering as I'm sure he meant it to be).
    In any case, this was the first time I'd ever given any consideration to the possibility of having sex with someone knowing that that was all it was about.  While part of me was afraid of the idea, part of me was enticed by it.  I realized that it didn't have to be cold and callous, and that it could be nice if we're open to hearing each other's needs and wants.
    Unfortunately, J turned out to have a girlfriend, and I have no desire to be the other woman (despite recent developments).  So, while that specific event never took place, it opened my mind to the possibilities.
    That's what prompted me to create a classified on AFF.  Imagine my horror when 90% of the responses I got either came from men older than my dad or had penis pics attached.  Yuck!
    M2 contacted me there. His e-mail had attached to it one very nice picture of a young man, 27 (this is as opposed to the OLD men who were contacing me), with a really great smile.  Instead of some gruesome comment about what his favorite positions are, he simply asked me if age was an issue to me.  I told him that my only concerns with age were that he be younger than my parents but old enough not to get me arrested.  I also pointed out that he's not THAT much younger than me.  Less than six years -- and that maturity is my main concern but that that doesn't necessarily come with age.
    It's turning out to be a very pleasant experience.  As I mentioned above, I expected there to be a coldness to this.  It surprises me how warm and comfortable it is, even with its strangeness.  We talk a lot and about a wide variety of things.  We touch a lot.
    Touching is such a nice thing.  Highly underrated.  I'd forgotten how much I liked it.  Ex freaked out if I grazed my fingers over him -- too ticklish, he'd tell me.  It shouldn't have, but it always felt like rejection when he would react like that.
    I don't know why this is the case, but I thought that the intertwining of fingers would be one of those things left out of this FWB situation, because it seems so intimate and personal.  And yet, I wake in the night, to find M2 clasping my hand in precisely that way, and it's comforting and nice.  He spoons me, too.  He is anything but cold, though I hardly hear from him when we are not together.
    I realize that only a few entries ago, I was ranting about the unfamiliarity and uncertainty of this.  I tend to behave like a billiard ball: ricocheting from extreme to extreme until finally sinking into that pocket of reason and logic that I'm comfortable with.  I think I needed to know that M2 found me worthy of further attention.  Now that I know that he enjoys my company as much as I enjoy his, I feel like I can relax with this.
    Next time, I intend to ask him if he'll allow me to tell him what I want.  While he is an energetic lover, and though my comfort is of primary concern to him, my pleasure does not seem to be quite as much of a priority as his own.  I don't think it's so much a matter of not caring, either, as perhaps lack of experience.  It certainly seems to be a great turn on for him when I do reach the high notes, but it's a much greater effort for me than it should be.  I'm not generally that stubborn.
    This will be an exercise for me, as well.  I have never been able to tell a lover what I need or want.  Even when they ask, I blush and find myself unable to open my mouth to voice the things I want to say: touch me gently... tease me... nibble delicately... allow me to warm through and through and through... take me slowly... it'll be better for both of us.

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.