Cured? -- 8-19-04

ow strange what things can bring people together.
    Lately, my mother has been distraught over the fate of my niece's custody.   Niece has been raised by my parents pretty much since she was born.  She is now almost 9 years old.
    In June, Niece went to Louisiana to see her mother for the summer.  Niece's mother is completely inept as a parent, and frankly as a human.  Nonetheless, my parents have always encouraged Niece to have a relationship with her.  One of N (niece's mom)'s faults is that she tends to end up living with people who are controlling.  Most recently she has moved in with a couple who have decided that it's time for Niece to live with her mother.  So at their encouragement, N has decided to pursue custody of Niece.
    I keep telling my mom that there is nothing to worry about.  No judge with any sense would evaluate N's living situation and determine that she's a healthy environment for a child -- especially a child who is quite vocal about NOT wanting to live with her.
    In any case, my mom has been having panic attacks, lately.  She latches on to me as soon as she realizes I'm in the room, and begins to talk about the situation.  Eventually, we'll move on to other topics, and she'll tell me that she feels better.
    Oddly enough, today's topic was my relationship with M2, which I'm becoming quite comfortable with.  I hadn't mentioned him to her, because I wasn't sure what she'd say about me having a sexual relationship, knowing how adamant I am about not getting into relationships right now.
    But last night, I stayed with him at his place.  It was really nice -- as good, if not better than the first time, because we were more comfortable with each other.  He's an impressive lover, and an incredible kisser.  I could kiss him for hours.  We have fun when we're together, too.  He has a great sense of humor and we laugh a lot.  Last night he was seriously trying to convince me that Tivo has made him a more productive human being.  I laughed hard.
    Well, today I told Shrink about him.  Shrink was pleased, which really surprised me.  He told me it was probably the healthiest relationship I've ever had, because M2 and I are honest about our feelings and communicate a lot.  He said that when we're together, we know what it's about, so there's no guessing, and that there's nothing wrong with that as long as we're both responsible and keep an open dialogue.  He told me he liked the direction my "new life" was taking.
    So when I came home and realized that my mom was having one of her moments, I told her about M2, and about what Shrink had said about him.  My mom blushed and giggled at first.  She's so funny when it comes to talking about sex that I'm actually having.  But then she told me that she remembered what it was like to be single and lonely, and that she thinks that relationships like this one are kind of special.  We actually had a pretty nice conversation about it.
    I feel better not sneaking around like I'm 16 or something.

    I couldn't bring myself to tell either Shrink or my mom about R.  Of course, I think I have a pretty good handle on that, now that I've realized that it was not him that caused all the feelings I was experiencing.  I still believe that he and I have a special connection.  We just feel so comfortable with each other and we gravitate toward the same subjects when we're together.  But mostly, R inspires me to keep hoping.  He's the kind of man that I want (minus the swinging).  I want a partner with whom I can communicate like that and share common interests.  I want a lover who can be sensual and who can enjoy a sensual partner.
    M, R's wife, was at Gather last night, sitting next to K when I got there.  She had her daughter there, too.  Someday, I'll have to ask R if their kids know about their lifestyle.  They're both teens, so she had to wonder what her mother was doing hanging out in a park without K and with all these unfamiliar men.
    In any case, when I arrived, M quickly scooted over and gave me a spot between herself and K.  It took me a minute to swallow the natural nervousness that erupts when I see her.  But once it did, she and I actually had a really great conversation.  We talked about our ex-husbands and what our marriages had been like.  We talked about our old attitudes toward sex, and the new ones we're developing.  I told her how my ex-husband was so controlling that I couldn't even tell him what I wanted in bed without him getting put off by it.  I told her that I still had a lot of hang ups with regards to sex, but that I'm getting over them.... obviously.  She laughed.
    This is without a doubt, the weirdest relationship I've ever had, but I really like her and we all know how I feel about her husband.

    Well, the news for the day is that Shrink says I'm cured.  He says I've got the tools now to deal with the old emotions as well as the new ones.  It kind of makes me sad to think of not seeing him anymore.  It's been nearly six years that he's been in my life.  He's been really great for me.

    But, despite the odd choices I've made lately, I really do believe that I'm finally on the path to getting it right.

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.