Perspective from the Shower -- 7-25-04

y cousin's bridal shower was today.� I've just returned.� I have to confess that I actually enjoyed myself.� Generally I avoid such events because they remind me of an earlier time, when I threw showers like mad in an attempt to make myself feel important.
��� As in my last entry, I realized that I avoid these events because, again, they remind me of things I no longer dare to hope for.� I think also, that I fear that if they ever again come to me, it will be a grand failure, like the first time.
��� I have hope, though, thanks to my cousin and today.� She's only a year younger than I am, and she, too, has been married once before.� She seems genuinely happy, now.� It radiated from her in a way I haven't seen since she was 13 and I was 14, and our favorite Michael Jackson video had just come on MTV.� She's lost a considerable amount of weight.� She smiles and laughs.� They've bought a house together and are landscaping it as a mutual project.
��� And they're planning to have children.

��� That's the dream that pains me to have given up the most.� A baby of my own.

��� I can't wait to get out of this black hole of a town that I live in.� 54 more days until I move away and never look back.� I really believe that this town has contributed greatly to my bleak state of mind, lately.� I've lived in Sacramento for the last 4 years, and aside from the heat and the rudeness, I really liked it.� There was always some place to go and someone to talk to.
��� Now that I've moved back here, it's like moving back in time.� A trip to Wal-Mart is like stepping into a Jeff Foxworthy video.� "If you're with your mama, your pop, your wife, and your second cousin, Gomer, and between the five of you you still don't have a full set of teeth...."
��� I sound like a snob, don't I?� I guess I have become one.� I cannot express the bitterness that I feel with regards to the path my life has taken.� I've tried so hard to live my life "the right way," to do the "right things," and sometimes it seems like I can't catch a break.
��� One thing I can say: despite the loneliness and the blatant lack of sex, I'm glad I'm single right now.� No drama to deal with other than my own.� Moving to the Bay Area will be great for me.� Great opportunities.� New people to meet.� New things to see.� MUCH lower temperatures.

54 more days!

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.