Rinsing Paintbrushes -- 7-30-04

insing the paint from a paintbrush, I marvel at how very long it seems to take to rinse it all from deep within the bristles.� The density seems unchanged for far longer than it should, puddling in the bottom of the sink, clinging as if desperate to leave its mark.
��� It's mindless work, and I have that conversation with you again.� That last conversation, when you promised me that you'd learned, and would never do anything so stupid again.� I hear the pain in your voice and feel that lump rising in my throat again, and I wonder could I really have done anything to have changed any of it;� as I notice the paint caked under my fingernails.
��� How many times must we have this discussion?� Is it you who keeps bringing it up, or is it me?� Am I angrier with you or with myself?
��� The color thins, as the cool water rushes through the brush.� It takes a considerable force to mash the color out of the bristles, and as I smash them into the bottom of the sink to watch the rich swirls of color rise up from deep within, I curse you for not saying good-bye and try to put you out of my mind for the ten thousandth time.
��� Realizing these brushes are as clean as they'll ever get, I take them to the front yard to shake them out and you remind me that you did say good-bye.� I had known it, then, but shelved it behind old hopes and new dreams, and never thought it could be what it was.
��� And as I fling the last drops of water from these brushes, I notice that the color may have faded, but I know it'll be there forever.

 

Previous Entries
Friendly Advising - 02-02-05
Lovemaking - 01-30-05
The Art of Unhappiness - 01-13-05
Rubber Ducky - 01-09-05
Ouch - 12-24-04
_

Click here for a 
Complete Table of Contents
_
 
My Diary Rings
Californian:
<< | random | >>
San Francisco:
<< | random | >>
Love;
<< | random | >>
Life and Love;
<< | random | >>
Freaks;
<< | random | >>
Gothic-Ones;
<< | random | >>
_
 Next 
 Previous 
 First 
 Latest 
 Profile 
 Diaryland 
 

If you like what you have read, or have comments, advice, or suggestions, please leave me a note or send me an e-mail.